USDA announces National Pork Board Appointments

WASHINGTON - Agriculture Secretary Ann M. Veneman today announced six appointments to the 15-member National Pork Board. Five of the appointees will serve 3-year terms and one appointee will serve a 2-year term.
calendar icon 4 June 2003
clock icon 2 minute read
Need a Product or service?
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text

"I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to provide their time and expertise," said Veneman.

The six were chosen from among nine pork producers nominated by the National Pork Producers Delegate Body during its meeting in Dallas, Texas, in March.

The appointees to serve are: David S. Culbertson, Geneseo, Ill.; Craig E. Christensen, Bouten, Iowa; A. Mark Reding, Howardstown, Ky.; Dianne L. Bettin, Truman, Minn.; Dennis O. Michael, Yankton, S.D.; and Wayne R. Peugh (2-year term), Edelstein, Ill.

Established under the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1985, the Board develops budgets and awards contracts to carry out a coordinated program designed to strengthen the position of pork in the marketplace.

The mandatory program is funded by an assessment of 0.40 percent of the market value of all hogs sold in the United States and an equivalent amount on imported hogs, pork, and pork products.

USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the board.

USDA - 4th June 2003

© 2000 - 2023 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.