Pork Checkoff Welcomes New National Pork Board Members at Strategic Planning Session

US - Four new National Pork Board members will get a jump start on their terms by joining the two reappointed board members and the nine holdover board members at a strategic planning session during World Pork Expo in Des Moines on June 6.
calendar icon 26 May 2006
clock icon 2 minute read

The appointments to the National Pork Board were announced recently by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Mike Johanns. Five appointees will serve 3-year terms, and one appointee will serve the remaining 2-year term created by the resignation of Deborah Johnson from North Carolina.

The six appointees’ term will begin July 1. They were chosen from among 10 pork producers nominated and ranked by the National Pork Act Delegate Body during its annual meeting in March.

The appointees to serve 3-year terms are:

  • Dianne L. Bettin, Truman, Minn. – Second term
  • Dennis O. Michael, Yankton, S.D. – Second term
  • Jeff E. Galle, Pittsfield, Ill. – First term
  • Eugene C. Nemechek, Wilson, N.C. – First term
  • William R. Brown, Nevada, Ohio. – First term
The appointee to serve a 2-year term is:

Alan E. Wilhoite, Lebanon, Ind. – First term The new first-term members’ official board meeting will be July 19. They will also participate in the annual Plan of Work and Budget session in late June. In addition, the new members will be integrated into three committees within the Board – budget, audit or administrative.

Source: National Pork Board - 25th May 2006
© 2000 - 2023 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.