Nominations Open for Leadership Positions on National Pork Checkoff Board

US - The National Pork Checkoff Board is accepting nominations to fill five, three-year terms as directors of the board.
calendar icon 23 November 2006
clock icon 3 minute read

In addition, candidates are being sought for two open seats on the Board’s Nominating Committee to serve two-year terms starting in 2007. Nominees may be submitted by state pork producer associations, farm organizations and anyone who pays the Pork Checkoff, which includes pork producers and pork importers.

Any person who is a producer and has paid all Checkoff assessments due, or is a representative of a producer/company that produces hogs/pigs, is eligible to serve on the National Pork Checkoff Board. The 15 positions on the Checkoff board are held by pork producers or importers who volunteer their time. Seats to be elected in 2007 currently are held by:

  • John Adams, NC - Term limitation applies
  • Danita Rodibaugh, IN - Term limitation applies
  • Tim Bierman, IA - Eligible for reelection to a 3- year term
  • Bruce Samson, MT - Eligible for reelection to a 3- year term
  • Steve Weaver, CA - Eligible for reelection to a 3- year term

The Pork Checkoff Nominating Committee will solicit, interview, evaluate and recommend candidates to the Pork Act Delegate Body at the annual meeting March 1-3, 2007, in Anaheim, Calif. A slate of eight producers will be elected and submitted to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture who will appoint five producers to serve 3-year terms on the National Pork Checkoff Board.

The application deadline is Dec. 1

ThePigSite News Desk

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.