Kidwell's Win Again in Annual Great Pork BarbeQlossal™

US - Craig and Patty Kidwell of Odessa, Missouri earned Grand Champion honours at the World Pork Expo in the Pork Checkoff’s 20th annual Great Pork BarbeQlossal™ contest. The Kidwells, of Boys of BBQ & Patty, were awarded cash and prizes including the grand prize of $10,000. It's the second time the Kidwell’s have won the competition.
calendar icon 12 June 2007
clock icon 3 minute read

“The Great Pork BarbeQlossal shows pork’s versatility,” said Lynn Harrison, a pork producer from Elk Mound, Wis. “This is another way to reinforce to consumers that pork is spirited, creative, engaging and energetic.”

The grand champion must cook in all four categories – whole hog, loin, ribs and shoulder. The 2007 grand champion team placed second in the whole-hog category, fourth place in the loin category and tenth place in the rib category.

“BarbeQlossal is unique. It is one of the only contests in the country that allows competitors to cook four cuts of meat. This allows us to showcase to consumers how easy it is to cook great tasting pork,” said Craig Kidwell.

“We never thought we would win again. We keep coming back because BarbeQlossal is a classic BBQ event for our entire family," he added,


This annual contest highlights barbecue techniques from across America. The Great Pork BarbeQlossal contest is sanctioned by the Kansas City Barbecue Society and follows its rules and regulations.

Eighty teams from 15 states competed in the annual pork barbecue contest, held at the World Pork Expo in Des Moines, Iowa. Of those, 19 were competing for the first time. Teams competed in one or more of the four categories. Monetary prizes are awarded for first place, through to tenth in each category, as well as the top five overall scores.

The Reserve Grand Champion honour and $3,000 went to Fred Horstman of 4 Mile Smokin Crew in Pleasant Hill, Iowa. The team was placed first in the whole-hog category and eighth in the loin category.

Each year, the top score from a single state is also rewarded with special recognition. This year the honour went to Minnesota and Mark Born of The Heat is On from Red Wing.

Top state

Also receiving special recognition were Ted and Donna McClure of PDT from Lenexa, Kansas., and Harley and Shirley Goerlitz of Harley’s Fencing Crew from Gidding, Texas. These teams have competed in all 20 competions.

Also, back by popular demand, was the Big Green Egg® Scramble. Six teams were selected to participate and were provided with a basket of pork, which included a new pork cut, the pocket roast. They prepared their pork on a Big Green Egg grill.

Andy McReynolds, Claxon’s Pig Daddy’s, from Altoona, Iowa, won the prize of a Big Green Egg grill.

© 2000 - 2023 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.