Nominations Open for National Pork Checkoff Board Seats

US - The National Pork Checkoff Board is accepting nominations for five board directors. Service terms are for three years. Candidates are also being sought for two open seats on the Board’s Nominating Committee, each to serve a two-year term.
calendar icon 11 October 2007
clock icon 3 minute read

Nominees may be submitted by state pork producer associations, farm organisations and anyone who pays the Pork Checkoff, which includes pork producers and pork importers.

Any person who is a producer and has paid all Checkoff assessments due, or is a representative of a producer/company that produces hogs/pigs, is eligible to serve on the National Pork Checkoff Board. The 15 positions on the Checkoff board are held by pork producers or importers who volunteer their time.

Seats to be elected in 2008 currently are held by:

  • Lynn Harrison, WI – Term limitation applies
  • Wayne Peugh, IL – Term limitation applies
  • Brian Zimmerman, NE – Eligible for re-election to a 3-year term
  • Alan Wilhoite, IN – Eligible for re-election to a 3-year term
  • Roy Henry, KS – Eligible for re-election to a 3-year term
The Pork Checkoff Nominating Committee will solicit, interview, evaluate and recommend candidates to the Pork Act Delegate Body at the annual meeting March 6-8, 2008, in St. Louis, Mo. A slate of eight producers will be elected and submitted to the US Secretary of Agriculture who will appoint five producers to serve 3-year terms on the National Pork Checkoff Board.

The application deadline is 1 December and application requests and questions should be directed to the National Pork Checkoff Board either by mail to 1776 NW 114th St, Clive, IA 50325, by telephone to Lorraine Garner at 515-223-2637, or e-mail [email protected].

The National Pork Checkoff Board consists of 15 members, each serving a maximum of two three-year terms. The Pork Act requires that no fewer than 12 states be represented by the 15 Pork Board members. At the time of election, these states will be represented by the board members whose positions on the board are not due for election: California, Iowa, Montana, Illinois, Minnesota, North Carolina, Missouri, Ohio and South Dakota. In order to meet the 12-state requirement, candidates from at least three "new" states must be ranked in the top five of the eight nominees sent to the Secretary of Agriculture.

© 2000 - 2023 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.