IPPA Bestows Honours

by 5m Editor
4 February 2008, at 12:46pm

IOWA - The Iowa Pork Producers Association has named the winners of its Honorary Master Pork Producer Award. The prestigious honour is given to two people each year for their outstanding and distinguished service to the betterment and success of Iowa's pork industry.

Farmer and State Representative Sandy Greiner from Keota in Washington County and Dr Maynard Hogberg, chairman of the Iowa State University Animal Science Department, have been named Honorary Master Pork Producers 2007

Rep. Sandy Greiner was first elected to the Iowa Legislature in 1992 and has served on several committees during her career at the statehouse. She has received numerous awards for her service to the State of Iowa and is credited with shepherding state legislation that aided in the eradication of pseudorabies in Iowa.

A fifth generation family farmer, Greiner and her husband, Terry, operate a diversified grain and livestock farm southeast of Keota. They are long-time members of the Washington County Pork Producers and Sandy received her county's Bell Ringer Award in 1976. She also was a member of the first IPPA Iowa Chop Committee.

Dr. Maynard Hogberg was born and raised on an Iowa pig farm and is an industry stalwart.

He attended ISU and earned a bachelor's degree in agricultural education in 1966 and earned a master's degree in animal science in 1972. He completed his Ph.D. in animal nutrition in 1976.

Hogberg also joined the Animal Husbandry faculty at Michigan State University in 1976 and was responsible for swine extension, teaching and research. He was appointed chairman of the Animal Science Department at MSU in 1984 and he held the position for 18 years. He returned to ISU in 2003 and has since been active in strategic planning and visioning for the swine and livestock industry in Iowa.

Under his leadership, the ISU Animal Science Department has initiated a new undergraduate program called the Swine Fellows Program, and the department has continued to work on improving environmental quality in swine production systems through adoption of management techniques and new technologies.

Dr Hogberg is an active member of the National Pork Producers Council, the National Pork Board, National Swine Registry and the National Swine Improvement Federation.

5m Editor