USDA: National Pork Board Appointments Announced

by 5m Editor
11 June 2008, at 10:56am

US - Deputy Agriculture Secretary Chuck Conner has announced the five appointments to the 15-member National Pork Board (Board) from the National Pork Producers Council's 20th Annual World Pork Expo in Des Moines, Iowa.

The five were chosen from among eight pork producers nominated by the National Pork Producers Delegate Body during its March meeting in St. Louis, Mo.

The newly appointed Board members are: Conley J. Nelson, Algona, Iowa; Karen J. Richter, Montgomery, Minnesota.

The reappointed Board members are: Roy J. Henry, Longford, Kansas; Alan E. Wilhoite, Lebanon, Indiana; Brian D. Zimmerman, Beatrice, Nebraska.

Each appointee will serve 3-year terms. Established under the Pork Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act of 1985, the Board develops budgets and awards contracts to carry out a coordinated program designed to strengthen the position of pork in the marketplace.

The mandatory program is funded by an assessment of 0.40 percent of the market value of all hogs sold in the United States and an equivalent amount on imported hogs, pork, and pork products. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service oversees the operation of the Board.

5m Editor