Winners of Pork Checkoff's 21st Annual Great Pork BarbeQlossal™

US - Mike and Beth Wozniak of Brimfield, Ill., earned Grand Champion honors June 7 in the Pork Checkoff's 21st annual Great Pork BarbeQlossal™ contest. The Wozniak's, of Quau, were awarded cash and prizes including the grand prize of $10,000. The Wozniak's also won BarbeQlossal in 2004.
calendar icon 11 June 2008
clock icon 4 minute read

"The Great Pork BarbeQlossal contest shows pork's versatility," said Bruce Samson, a pork producer from Three Forks, Mont. "This is another way to reinforce to consumers that pork is spirited, creative, engaging and energetic."

"BarbeQlossal is unique. It is one of the only contests in the country that allows competitors to cook four cuts of meat"
Mike Wozniak of Brimfield, Ill. (Winner of annual Great Pork BarbeQlossal™)

The grand champion must cook in all four categories - whole hog, loin, ribs and shoulder. The 2008 grand champion team placed second in the loin category, fifth place in the rib category and ninth place in the whole hog category.

"BarbeQlossal is unique. It is one of the only contests in the country that allows competitors to cook four cuts of meat," Wozniak said. "This allows us to showcase to consumers how easy it is to cook great tasting pork."

Sixty-one teams from 13 states competed in the annual pork barbecue contest held at the World Pork Expo in Des Moines, Iowa. Of those, 9 were competing in the Great Pork BarbeQlossal for the first time. Teams competed in one or more of the four categories. Monetary prizes in the Great Pork BarbeQlossal are awarded for first through tenth places in each category, as well as the top five overall scores.

Reserve Grand Champion honors and $3,000 went to Darren Warth and Shad Kirton of Iowa's Smokey D's BBQ in Des Moines. The team placed fourth in the loin category, sixth in the rib category and tenth in the whole hog category.

Each year, the top score from a single state also is honored. Special recognition was awarded to the top team from Kansas -Neal Dunker of Dodge County Purple Porkers from Mission, Kan.

Teams that were not recognized as a top-10 winner had an opportunity to win a Horizon smoker, donated by TNT Landscaping and Horizon. Dennis DiPietre, Dad's Best, from Columbia, Mo., was awarded the smoker.

Back by popular demand was the Big Green Egg® Scramble. Six teams were selected to participate in the Big Green Egg Scramble. The teams were provided a basket of pork, which included a new pork cut, the pocket roast. They prepared their pork on a Big Green Egg grill for a chance to walk away as Big Green Egg Scramble champion. John Laflen, Team Showrite, from Mason City, Iowa, received a Big Green Egg grill as the grand prize winner. Teams not participating in the Big Green Egg Scramble has an opportunity to win a Big Green Egg grill. Ryan Knippelmeir, Jolly Roger, from Freemont, Neb., was awarded the grill.

This annual contest highlighted barbecue techniques from across America. The Great Pork BarbeQlossal contest is sanctioned by the Kansas City Barbecue Society and follows its rules and regulations. Sponsors for the Great Pork BarbeQlossal contest included the Pork Checkoff, Cargill Meat Solutions, John Boos Company, W&G Marketing, Electronic Engineering, Miller Beer, Iowa Beverage, Pepsi America, Dibs ice cream and the Iowa Machine Shed.

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.