New National Pork Board Officers to be Elected

by 5m Editor
17 July 2008, at 3:01pm

US - The National Pork Board will elect officers for the next year during its meeting July 21-22 at the Lake of the Ozarks in Missouri.

Board members will meet during the annual National Pork Industry Conference, a meeting of national pork industry leaders. The board terms of Lynn Harrison, a producer from Elk Mound, Wis., and Wayne Peugh, Dunlap, IL, have expired. As immediate past president Harrison will stay on, to serve as an ex-officio, non-voting member of the Pork Board.

The board also will welcome new members Conley Nelson of Algona, Iowa, and Karen Richter of Montgomery, Minn., and swear in re-elected board members Brian Zimmerman of Beatrice, Neb., Alan Wilhoite of Lebanon, Ind., and Roy Henry of Longford, Ks. All will serve three-year terms.

The board has a limited agenda during its summer meeting to allow members to attend sessions at the industry conference. The board will continue work on the 2009 budgeting process by setting next year's spending limit. Earlier, the board identified the critical issues it will address in 2009.

The board also will receive updates on the request-for-referendum process and on the search for a new chief executive officer to replace current CEO Steve Murphy.

5m Editor