Pork Board Honours

US - The National Pork Board honoured the latest class of Environmental Steward Award winners at the National Pork Industry Forum in Kansas City, MIssouri.
calendar icon 8 March 2010
clock icon 3 minute read

The winners exemplify excellence in environmental care and conservation in pork production.

"The National Pork Industry Forum provides a great opportunity for these producers to be recognized by their peers," said Tim Bierman, a producer from Larrabee, Iowa, and National Pork Board president.

"It is important to recognize the positive environmental impact pork producers can have. Pork producers are natural protectors of the environment because they realize that taking good care of the environmental and natural resources is not only the right thing to do, but it's also smart business. Honouring these producers at Forum allows other producers to get excited about this programme."

Those honoured this year at the ceremony are:

  • JAC Pork of Hartley, Iowa, represented by Roger and Renee Nath;
  • Schafer Farms of Goodhue, Minnesota., represented by Brandon and Monica Schafer;
  • Bryant Worley Farms of Princeton, North Carolina, represented by Bryant and Debbie Worley;
  • Sensenig Farm of Mohnton, Pennsylvania., represented by Lowell and Janet Sensenig.

Environmental steward award winners receive a plaque in recognition for their strong environmental ethics. Their stories were featured in National Hog Farmer magazine, which co-sponsors the awards program, in the Pork Checkoff Report and in an educational video produced and distributed by the National Pork Board.

"The environmental stewards are the greatest spokespeople for the pork industry and the environment," said Bierman.

"I would encourage all producers to find out how to participate in the environmental stewards program. The program will allow them to become involved and to make a difference."

The National Pork Board is receiving applications and nominations for 2010 Pork Industry Environmental Steward Award winners. The deadline is 30 April 2010.

The Pork Checkoff also honoured Dale Miller, editor of National Hog Farmer, as the winner of its Distinguished Service Award. The Distinguished Service Award is given annually to recognise the lifelong contribution to the pork industry of an outstanding leader. "Dale's passion for helping producers understand and adopt changing production practices have benefitted pork producers for the past 38 years," said Tim Bierman. "As an example, Dale was at the forefront of delivering vital information on artificial insemination technologies as they first offered promise to U.S. pork producers in the early 1970s, through the time when they became common practice."

© 2000 - 2022 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.