Only Seven Countries Ready for Sow Stalls Ban

by 5m Editor
6 February 2012, at 8:58am

EU - Only three member countries — United Kingdom, Sweden and Luxembourg — are already compliant with Europe's partial stalls ban due to enter into force in January 2013, according to the European Commission.

In response to a question by United Kingdom Liberal Democrat MEP George Lyon, the European Commission agriculture department confirmed that a further four countries — Ireland, Lithuania, Denmark and Germany — will have switched to loose housing in time for the deadline.

Last week, Brussels called on national capitals to provide updated information on compliance. Meanwhile Commisison figures indicate the increase in overall production costs for continental pig producers to adhere to the partial stalls ban will be 'in the region of' two per cent.

Sponsor message

Ensure continuous feed flow and keep your animals fed.