Five Areas Declared Aujeszky's Disease Free Zones

30 January 2013, at 2:44pm

MEXICO - Five areas in Durango and Coahuila have now been declared Aujeszky's disease (AD) free zones.

The document signed by the owner of SAGARPA, Enrique Martinez y Martinez, will impact positively on the development of swine production in the area, worth over 345 million pesos, making it more competitive and profitable.

This agreement, published ,in the Official Journal of the Federation (DOF), is issued under the federal government, in coordination with the governments of the states of Durango and Coahuila.

Hog producers in those states have developed and implemented health activities for the diagnosis, control, eradication and surveillance, both active and passive, of the disease.

The areas declared AD free are the state of Durango and the municipalities of Torreón, Matamoros, San Pedro de las Colonias, and Francisco I. Viesca Madero, of Coahuila state.