National Pork Board welcomes four new officers

Their term will begin July 1
calendar icon 8 June 2023
clock icon 1 minute read

The US National Pork Board (NPB) elected four new officers for the 2023-2024 term beginning July 1, according to a press release from the organisation.

NPB’s 15-producer board of directors represent the 60,000 US pig farmers who pay into the Pork Checkoff – a program funding research, promotion and education efforts for the benefit of the whole industry. The board allocates Pork Checkoff funds to address producer priorities, outlined in the producer-led annual planning process, to build trust and add value for US pork and pork products.

Pennsylvania pork producer Bob Ruth was elected to serve as the president of NPB. Ruth currently serves as the senior vice president for Clemens Food Group after working for Country View Family Farms for more than 20 years. He is also an active member of the Pennsylvania Pork Producers Board of Directors, PennAg and Pennsylvania Farm Bureau.

In addition to Ruth, Al Wulfekuhle (Iowa) was reappointed to the board and elected as vice president and Chad Groves (Kansas) was elected as treasurer. Heather Hill (Indiana) will serve as past president in an ex-officio status. 

Other producers appointed by US Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack to serve terms on NPB beginning July 1 include: Gordon Spronk (Minnesota) Morgan Wonderly (California), Santiago Vazquez (North Carolina), Stewart Leeth (Virginia), and Al Wulfekuhle (Iowa).

    © 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.