Five CEE countries want to extend Ukraine grain ban till year-end - source

The five countries also support grain transit subsidies
calendar icon 25 August 2023
clock icon 1 minute read

Poland, Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania and Slovakia support extending an EU ban on Ukrainian grain import to those countries until the end of the year, Reuters reported, citing Polish agriculture minister Robert Telus on Friday. 

The European Union in May allowed Ukraine's five neighbours to ban domestic sales of Ukrainian wheat, maize, rapeseed and sunflower seeds, while allowing transit of such cargoes for export elsewhere. That ban is set to end on Sept. 15.

"We support a ban on imports into our countries until the end of the year," Telus told a news conference.

"I want to say that even if it fails, some countries will introduce their own restrictions. Our declaration is clear."

The five countries' agriculture ministers also agree that they support grain transit subsidies and want other products to be added to the list of import bans, such as raspberries in the case of Poland, Telus said

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.